Many states have passed laws prohibiting texting while driving. In 2009, Utah passed the strictest law in the nation. Any driver who is caught violating the law will be charged with a misdemeanor and will face up to three months in jail as well as a $750 fine. What about a texting related accident that results in death? In this case, the penalty is much more severe. This calls for a prison sentence of up to 15 years and a $10k fine.
At this time, there are 19 states, as well as the District of Columbia, that ban drivers from texting while driving. That being said, most of them do not penalize violators as heavily as Utah.
A recent study by the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute concluded that drivers who text have a 23x greater chance of being involved in an accident when compared to those who don’t.
While texting and driving is still a major issue (see the above statistic) many states are being proactive in stopping the problem. Do you think more states will begin to enforce stricter laws, such as those in place in Utah?